Keynote speakers

Announcing our Keynote Speakers

Teri Turner, MD, MPH, Med

Teri Turner, MD, MPH, MEd is a tenured Professor of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine, where she is the Assistant Dean of Graduate Medical Education. She serves as the Vice Chair of Educational Affairs and the Martin I Lorin Endowed Chair in Medical Education. Dr. Turner founded and previously directed the Center for Research, Innovation, and Scholarship in Medical Education for the Department of Pediatrics and completed a Master’s Degree in Education in 2004. She is recognized as a national and international leader in medical education. She is the first author of the Clinician-Educator’s Handbook, designed to aid clinicians in their day-to-day teaching duties and has published more than 60 articles over the past 10 years related to medical education and has conducted numerous seminars, workshops and peer mentoring sessions on a breadth of educational topics in the United States and abroad. Dr. Turner is a teacher who is “in the trenches” and has won numerous awards for her teaching skills, curricula and program leadership including the American Academy of Pediatrics Education Award. At her core, she is fervent about growth mindset and setting learners up to succeed and has been on the leading edge of leveraging these principles in the clinical learning environment and studying their impact.

Bryan Malas, MHPE, CO 

Bryan Malas is the current director of the Department of Orthotics/Prosthetics Department and Moria Tobin Wickes Orthotics Program at Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago. He is also an Associate Professor at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine. He received his orthotics training at Northwestern University and obtained his Master’s in Health Profession Education from the University of Illinois Chicago. Before his current position, he was the Director of Orthotic Education at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine. Bryan has held various leadership positions including past president of the American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists (AAOP) Midwest Chapter. He has also served as the chair of the National Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education (NCOPE), the ISPO Education Committee, and the CPD Committee. He has previously served on the Executive Board of ISPO and currently holds the role of task officer for ISPO.